Travel

Gansbaai : Shark Cage Diving

Shark Cage Diving

Gansbaai Shark Cage Diving Adventure
Marine Dynamics

So in the light of Shark Week I decided to do a little “Throwback Thursday” story and share my shark cage diving experience.

First, I would like to mention; I never ever really had the urge to shark cage dive. It wasn’t on my list of things to do, doing shark cage diving never even crossed my mind and I knew nothing of Great White sharks, except for what I saw on famous Stephen Spielberg movie, JAWS.

All of it changed when I started working in Gansbaai, September 2014. A quaint little fishing village, also known as one of the Great White shark hotspots of the world.

Anyhow, I didn’t get in that cage the first chance I got, no, no. My dad came to visit in April 2015 and that’s when I went swimming with the sharks, with daddy bear right next to me. No reason to be scared now… right?

18 April 2015
We headed out on the first trip of the day. Due to some tide, we launched from Gansbaai harbour onboard Slashfin enjoying an exhilarating boat ride, passing the famous Danger Point en route to the anchor site. Water temperature measured at a low of 12.7˚C!!, but with the wetsuits provided and the adrenaline rush I experienced as soon as you got into the cage, with the sharks being kissing range from us, the chilly water was soon all forgotten. We had a total of TEN individual sharks on our trip!

A shark biologist/guide is onboard every trip out to sea, which makes it a FINtastic as well as an educational adventure. You will have a newfound respect for these amazing apex predators and their environment afterwards.

Marine Dynamics also works in partnership with the Dyer Island Conservation Trust. The Trust focuses on the critically important Dyer Island Ecosystem, with research programs focusing on Great White sharks, whales, dolphins, and the endangered African penguin.

Need To Know
– Trip duration: 3 – 4 hours depending on shark activity
–  No age restrictions
– A meal is served prior to the trip & soup and sandwiches afterwards, with snacks onboard while out at sea
– Trip registration, wetsuit sizing, meal, and safety briefing takes place at The Great White House

Where
5 Geelbek Street
Kleinbaai, Gansbaai (2 and half hours from Cape Town)
South Africa
GPS: -34º 36′ 53.74″, +19º 21′ 10.75″

Daddy and I
© Kelly Baker, Marine Biologist

Shark Cage Diving Anwynn Louw

Shark Love!
Anny

2 thoughts on “Gansbaai : Shark Cage Diving”

Leave a comment